from the Nebraska Department of Environment and Energy

For more information,contact
Brian McManus (402) 471-4223, or
Amanda Woita (402) 471-4243
For Immediate Release
September 29, 2016

Committee Formed to Advise NDEQ in Preparation of Solid Waste Management Report

Director Jim Macy of the Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality has announced the formation of an Advisory Committee to provide advice to the Department in the preparation of a study to examine the solid waste management programs implemented by the Department. The study is the result of Legislative Bill 1101 introduced by Senators Heath Mello, Ken Haar, Rick Kolowski and Ken Schilz.

“We are anxious to begin this effort,” Macy said. “LB 1101 calls for a study that will examine the status of solid waste management programs operated by the department, to help us evaluate ways to modernize and potentially revise those programs. An important step in developing this study is the formation of the advisory committee.”

The study will examine:
  • Whether existing state programs regarding litter and waste reduction and recycling should be amended or merged;
  • The needs of recycling and composting programs, including the need for infrastructure development, operating standards, market development, coordinated public education, and incentives to increase recycling and composting;
  • Methods to partner with political subdivisions, and private and nonprofit organizations to most successfully address waste management issues;
  • Existing funding sources and possible new revenue sources at the state and local level to address existing and emerging solid waste management issues; and,
  • Revisions to existing grant programs to proactively address solid waste management issues.

“The Advisory Committee is comprised of individuals across the state representing organizations, political subdivisions and businesses, and I am thrilled with the expertise and experience they bring to the table," Macy said. "We will bring the Committee together as soon as possible and get started on this project.”

Committee members include:
George Hoellen, President, T.O. Haas Tire, Lincoln; Jo Leyland, City Administrator for the City of Imperial; Lash Chaffin of the League of Nebraska Municipalities; Ed Sadler, City Manager of the City of Sidney; Kelley Danielson, District Manager of the Butler County Landfill; Jim Weber, president of Sandhills Plastics, Kearney; Danielle Easdale, Waste Reduction and Recycling Incentive Grant Project Manager in Cass County; Rick Yoder, Chief Sustainability Officer at the University of Nebraska-Omaha; and Fred Hlava, retired Gordon City Manager.

In addition to the advisory committee, NDEQ may hire consultants and special experts to assist in the study. LB1101 instructs NDEQ to submit the report, including recommendations, to Legislative committees no later than December 15, 2017.