For more information,
contact NDEE's Public Information Office, (402) 471-4223, (402) 471-4243 or (402) 471-4245

Drinking Water Protection Area Signs Being Posted this Spring

May 24, 2012 – Nebraskans may notice that over the Spring, new signs are being installed along roadways across the state, indicating that they are entering a Drinking Water Protection Area. The signs are designed to raise public awareness about cooperative efforts between the state and local groups to protect the drinking water from contamination in the area. Altogether, over 400 signs will be posted at 158 Drinking Water Protection Areas across the state.

The new signs (pictured at right) were made available at no cost to Community Public Water Systems through NDEQ’s Nonpoint Source Pollution Management (Section 319) grant program. Some of the signs will replace old existing signs, but most will be placed in new locations at the border of a Drinking Water Protection Area (also known as a Wellhead Protection Area).

The redesigned signs are the result of discussions between the Nebraska Wellhead Protection Network and municipal water system operators. This collaborative process enlisted the help of an advertising and public relations class from UNL and the Wellhead Protection Network, which includes representatives from the Nebraska Association of Resources Districts, Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality, Nebraska Department of Health and Human Services, Nebraska Rural Water Association, The Groundwater Foundation and some public water system operators. Over 80% of the signs will be installed at approved locations on state roads at no charge by the Nebraska Department of Roads. The remaining signs, not located on state roads, will be installed locally.

A list of sign recipients is attached.

What is a Drinking Water/Wellhead Protection Area?

When an area has been determined to be a Drinking Water Protection Area (also known as a Wellhead Protection Area) it means that there are wells within the region that provide drinking water to the public. Nebraska’s Wellhead Protection Program is a voluntary program which assists communities and other public water suppliers in preventing contamination of their water supplies. The Program has developed maps that show areas around these public drinking water wells where contamination could directly impact water quality. Local entities can use this information to develop Wellhead Protection Plans to protect these important sources of drinking water.

For more information, go to the agency’s web site at deq.ne.gov, select “Programs” and then select Wellhead Protection Program. The direct URL is: http://deq.ne.gov/NDEQProg.nsf/OnWeb/WHPA

Or, contact the Wellhead Protection Program at (402) 471-3376.
(See attached file: 05-23-12 list of recipients.pdf)
File Size 30 KB

List of Recipients of New Drinking Water Protection Area Signs

Nebraska Cities and Villages:
Adams, Albion, Alexandria, Allen, Alliance, Alvo, Ansley, Arlington, Atlanta, Auburn, Aurora, Bartlett, Bassett, Beatrice, Beaver Crossing, Bee, Beemer, Bellwood, Belvidere, Benedict, Bertrand, Boelus, Bristow, Brock, Bruning, Burwell, Bushnell, Byron, Ceresco, Chambers, Chappell, Chester, Clarkson, Clay Center, Clearwater, Dalton, Dannebrog, Davenport, Davey, Denton, Dewitt, Doniphan, Eagle, Edgar, Edison, Elba, Elm Creek, Elwood, Emerson, Endicott, Exeter, Fairbury, Falls City, Farnam, Franklin, Fullerton, Gering, Giltner, Glenvil, Gordon, Greenwood, Gretna, Guide Rock, Hallam, Hampton, Harrison, Harvard, Hastings, Hay Springs, Hayes Center, Hemingford, Henry, Holdrege, Howells, Johnson, Kenesaw, Kimball, Lawrence, Leigh, Lexington, Long Pine, Loup City, Lyons, Malcolm, McCool Junction, Mead, Meadow Grove, Minden, Morrill, Nelson, Newport, North Loup, Ogallala, Ord, Palmer, Panama, Petersburg, Phillips, Plainview, Platte Center, Plattsmouth, Randolph, Ravenna, Schuyler, Scotia, Scottsbluff, Seward, Shelby, Shelton, Shubert, Sidney, Spalding, Springfield, Stanton, Stromsburg, Superior, Sutherland, Swanton, Talmage, Tecumseh, Tilden, Trenton, Ulysses, Utica, Valley, Verdel, Verdon, Waco, Wauneta, Wayne, Weeping Water, Wolbach, Wynot, Yutan.

Other Community Public Water Systems:
Bay Meadows Trailer Court, BIC Joint Water Agency, Big Sandy, Boyd County Rural Water District (RWD) #2, Country Acres Subdivision, Douglas County Sanitary Improvement District (SID) #258 - Carat Homes, Eagle Lake Subdivision, Eagle View, Eagles Nest Estates, Green Acres Mobile Home Court, Lakeland Estates Water Company, Lancaster County RWD #1, Logan East Rural Water System, Metropolitan Utilities District, Middle Island Lake Association, North Point Johnson Lake, Otoe County RWD #3, Pawnee County RWD #1, Sarpy County SID #23 - Westmont Subdivision, Saunders County SID #6 – Riverview, Sky Ranch Acres, West Knox Rural Water District, West Military Water Company, Wood River Valley Mobile Home Park, Woodcliff Lakes Inc.

SizeFile Name
30 KB 05-23-12 list of recipients.pdf