Comparison of Hazardous Waste Generator Requirements
This guidance document is advisory in nature but is binding on an agency until amended by such agency. A guidance document does not include internal procedural documents that only affect the internal operations of the agency and does not impose additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties or include confidential information or rules and regulations made in accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act. If you believe that this guidance document imposes additional requirements or penalties on regulated parties, you may request a review of the document.

Form #:  00-055
Guidance Documents
Revised: 11/15/16
SizeFile Name
424 KB 00-055 Comparison Generators.pdf

The chart below provides a comparison of requirements for three categories of waste generators: Conditionally Exempt Small Quantity Generator (CESQG); Small Quantity Generator (SQG); and Large Quantity Generator (LQG). Chapters listed at the top of the columns refer to Title 128 – Nebraska Hazardous Waste Regulations.


Requirement
CESQG (Chap 8)
SQG (Chap 9)
LQG (Chap 10)
Identify Hazardous Waste (Chap 4)
Yes
Yes
Yes
Generation Limits
< 100 kg/mo
(
< 220 lb/mo)
Between 100 and 1,000 kg/mo
(Between 220 and 2,200 lb/mo.)
> 1,000 kg/mo
(
> 2,200 lb/mo)
Acute Hazardous Waste Limits
< 1 kg/mo
(
< 2.20 lb/mo)
< 1 kg/mo
(
< 2.20 lb/mo)
> 1kg/mo
(> 2.2lb/mo)
Facility Receiving Waste
State approved or RCRA permitted
RCRA-permitted facility
RCRA-permitted facility
USEPA ID Number (Chap 4)
Not required
Required
Required
RCRA Personnel Training
Not required
Familiarization required
Required
DOT Training (49 CFR)
Required
Required
Required
Exception Report
Not required
Required > 60 days
Required > 45 days
Biennial Report
Not required
Not required
Required (Chap 4)
On-site accumulation limits (without permit)
< 1,000 kg
(
< 2,200 lb)
< 6,000 kg
(
< 13,200 lb)
Any quantity
Accumulation Time Limits (without permit)
None
< 180 days or
< 270 days if ≥ 200 miles to disposal facility (Chap 9)
< 90 days + an additional 30 days if granted extension by NDEQ (Chap 10)
Storage Requirements
None
Basic standards for containers or tanks (Chap 9)
Full compliance with management of containers or tanks (Chap 10)
Arrangements With Local Authorities
None
Required (Chap 17)
Required (Chap 17)
Emergency Equipment & Communications
None
Required (Chap 17)
Required (Chap 17)
Contingency Plan
None
None
Required (Chap 18)
Emergency Coordinator
None
Required
Required
Telephone Information
None
Post information by phone
In Contingency Plan
Use Manifests
No
Yes, unless waste is reclaimed under contractual agreement
Yes


Produced by: Nebraska Department of Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 98922, Lincoln, NE 68509-8922; phone (402) 471-2186. To view this, and other information related to our agency, visit our web site at http://deq.ne.gov.